San Marino Wins Italian Series for Third Year in a Row

San Marino got seven innings of shutout ball from Jim Magrane to beat Rimini 4-1 to win the Italian Series for the third year in a row three games to two.  They had to win the last three games of the series to take the championship.  Magrane allowed only two hits and walked three.  It was his second outing in three days as he threw seven innings on Friday, giving up only one run.  He also pitched in game one the previous week, working seven innings and giving up one run, but not getting the win after Rimini won the game in the eleventh inning.

Joseph Mazzuca was again the big bat for San Marino, hitting a solo shot in the second inning to give San Marino an early 1-0 lead.  He was intentionally walked in the sixth after a Mattia Reginato double.  That did not prevent San Marino from scoring their second run after Simone Albanese singled to make it 2-0.  Albanese would single in the ninth to score Mazzuca with the third run in the game.  The fourth run scored on a wild pitch.

Rimini was able to score their lone run in the bottom of the ninth courtesy of a San Marino error.

Comments are closed.