Lions Rally to Win KBO Championship

The Samsung Lions rallied to win the final three games to win the KBO championships for the third year in a row.  The Doosan Bears had a chance to be the first team in history to achieve a positive event or a negative event.

The positive event was winning the KBO championship as a fourth seed, which no KBO team has done in the brief history of the KBO.  The negative event, the first team to lose a three games to one lead in a best of seven series as the Samsung Lions won the seventh game 7-3 to give the Bears the negative accomplishment.

The Lions broke the game open in the sixth.  With the bases loaded a ground ball to third and an error on the throw home allowed two runs to score.  A Seok-Min Park single scored two more runs and a Tae-wan Kim single scored the final run.

Seung-hwan Oh pitched the ninth inning and retired the Bears in order to clinch the three peat.  The last team to win three series in a row were the Haitai Tigers, who won four in a row from 1986 to 1989.  They later changed their name to the Kia Tigers.

Comments are closed.