Nippert Voted MVP of KBO

Dustin Nippert became the fourth foreign player to win the KBO MVP. He finished ahead of the Samsung Lions Hyoung-Woo Choi. The Doosan Bears won the KBO while the Samsung Lions missed the playoffs.

This will be the second straight year a foreign player has won the MVP. The NC Dinos Eric Thames won the award last year. The two other foreign MVPs were Tyrone Woods (1998) and Daniel Rios (2007), both of whom played for the Bears when they won their awards.

Nippert led the league in wins with 22 and ERA at 2.95. At 35 years of age he became the oldest pitcher in the KBO to win 20 games. The ERA is impressive when you consider the offense dominates in the KBO and most pitchers have ERAs over 4.00. This was the sixth year Nippert has played in the KBO. During his first year in the KBO he achieved his best ERA and most wins (2.55, 15-6). He is 80-35 with a 3.38 ERA for his six year career.

The Nexon Heroes pitcher Jae-Young Shin was voted rookie of the year for his 15 wins and 3.90 ERA in 30 starts. The KT Wiz pitcher Ju Kwon finished in second place with a 6-8 record and a 5.10 ERA. While a number of foreign players were technically rookies in their first year in the KBO myworld would be surprised if they would be eligible to win the award, or at least they would have problems receiving votes.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.