Florida Gators Win First Championship

The Florida Gators have had some pretty good baseball teams over the years. None of them could call themselves champions. The 2017 version became the first to win an NCAA championship with their 6-1 win over LSU. Florida becomes the first school to win a championship in football, basketball and baseball.

Tyler Dyson got the start for Florida. He gave up one run in six innings of work. Michael Byrne relieved him in the seventh. Byrne appeared to have given up a second run after getting a double play ground out. The umpires ruled interference on the runner sliding into second base and since no runner can advance on an interference play the runner who had scored had to return to third. The next hitter flied out and Florida still had a 2-1 lead.

They blew the game wide open with a four spot in the eighth. Nick Horvath was hit by a pitch with the bases loaded. Deacon Liput smacked a single to drive in two runs. Liput had also singled in the second inning to drive in a run. J.J. Schwarz drove in the fourth run with a sacrifice fly. He had also driven in the first run in the opening inning with a single.

Jackson Kowar got the last five outs. He was the lucky guy to be on the bottom of the pile up after the game was won.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.