Kia Tigers KBO Champs

The reign of the Doosan Bears is over just as the four year reign of the Samsung Lions ended with the Bears first championship two years ago. The Kia Tigers ended the Doosan Bears two year run with their first championship since 2009, a 7-6 thriller that appeared to be a blow out from the beginning.

The Tigers appeared to have put the game away with a Bum-ho Lee grand slam in the third triggering a five run inning for a 5-0 lead. The Tigers added two more in the sixth to up their lead to 7-0. Doosan Bears ace Dustin Nippert was charged with all seven runs in his 5.1 innings of work.

Hector Noesi was cruising for the Tigers until he hit a giant wall in the seventh. The Bears maimed him for four straight hits, three singles and a double to score two runs. A hit by pitch to load the bases ended the night for Noesi. The bullpen gave up two more singles to score three runs and a ground out scored the sixth run of the inning to trim the Tiger lead to 7-6. It had now become a ballgame.

Yoon-Dong Kim retired the Bears in order in the eighth. Hyun-Jong Yang gave the manager some tense moments. A walk to the leadoff batter, an error and a second walk loaded the bases with just one out. Se-Hyuk Park popped to short and Jae-Ho Kim popped to the catcher in foul territory to end the game. Yang had secured the championship for the Tigers.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.