NPB Golden Glove Awards

Below are the golden glove awards issued by the NPB. These are not given to the best defensive players at these positions, but the best players at the various positions. Like major league baseball, sometimes the best is based on a popularity contest. The surprise was that Shohei Otani did not receive any votes as either an outfielder or pitcher. Injuries left him with minimal playing time.

Central League

Pitcher - Tomoyuki Sugano (Yomiuri Giants)
Catcher - Seiji Kobayashi (Yomiuri Giants)
First Base - Jose Lopez (Yokohama Bay Stars)
Second Base - Ryosuke Kikuchi (Hiroshima Carp)
Third Base - Takashi Toritani (Hanshin Tigers)
Shortstop - Hayato Sakamoto (Yomiuri Giants)
Outfield - Yoshihiro Maru (Hiroshima Carp), Seiya Suzuki (Hiroshima Carp), Masayuki Kuwahara (Yokohama Bay Stars)

Pacific League

Pitcher - Yusei Kikuchi (Seibu Lions)
Catcher - Takuya Kai (Softbank Hawks)
First Base - Ginji Akaminai (Rakuten Golden Eagles)
Second Base - Daichi Suzuki (Lotte Marines)
Third Base - Nobuhiro Matsuda (Softbank Hawks)
Shortstop - Kenta Imamiya (Softbank Hawks)
Outfield - Shogo Akiyama (Seibu Lions), Yuki Yanagita (Softbank Hawks), Haruki Nishikawa (Nippon Ham Fighters)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.