Korean Opening Day Starters are Foreign

Korean pitching is improving in the KBO. In 2017 all ten opening day starters were foreign pitchers. Last year nine opening day starters were foreign pitchers. This year that number has whittled down to eight.

Kim Kwang-Hyun, who was posted to the major leagues a couple years ago but never signed, will start for the defending champion SK Wyverns. KBO 2017 MVP Yang Hyeon-jong will start for the Kia Tigers. After those two the other eight teams will rely on foreign pitchers to start on opening day. Below are the opening day starters for the other teams.

KT Wiz - William Cuevas
LG Twins - Tyler Wilson
NC Dinos - Eddie Butler
Samsung Lions - Deck McGuire
Doosan Bears - Josh Lindblom
Hanwha Eagles - Warwick Saupold
Lotte Giants - Brooks Raley
Nexen Heroes - Jake Brigham

KBO clubs are limited to carry just two foreign pitchers on their roster. They can carry three foreign players on their roster but the third is a position player. No KBO club carries two position players and one pitcher to fill their three foreign player limit.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.