Schoop Leads Netherlands Past Japan in Port Tournament

Japan jumped out to an early 2-0 lead against Netherlands, fueled by an RBI single in the first from top hitter Ryuma Seki and a solo shot in the fourth from Masaya Higshimoto in the fourth. Both runs were scored against Netherlands veteran ace Rob Cordemans. The Netherlands came roaring back with 2-run double from Sharlon Schoop in the fifth and an RBI single from Schoop in the seventh.

The Netherlands shut down Japan after the fourth inning. Diegomar Markwell pitched three shutout innings to get credit for the win. Juan Carlos Sulbaran, Kevin Kelly and Tom Stuifbergen each retired two hitters to finish out the game, Stuifbergen getting credit for the save.

It is the first time the Netherlands has won the port tournament since 1999.

MVP of Torunament - Dwayne Kemp (Netherlands)
Best Hitter - Ryuma Seki (Japan) .560 batting average
Top Pitcher -Vance Ross (United States) 0.00 ERA, league leading 14 K’s
Top Power Hitter - Denzel Richardson (Netherlands) 2 homeruns
Top Rookie - Delano Selassa (Netherlands)
Most RBIs - Ryuma Seki (Japan) 11
Best On Base Man - Nick Dibenedetto (United States) .609 OBA, including 5 hit by pitch
Stolen Bases - Dwayne Kemp (Netherlands), Daisuke Ezake (Japan) 4

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.