Monclova Mexican Champions

The Monclova Acereros won a seven game series against the Tijuana Toros to advance to the Mexican League championship from the Northern Division. Yucatan Leones swept the first place Mexico Diablos Rojos to advance to the championship from the Southern Division. Yucatan finished third in the Southern Division. Monclava finished in a tie for first with Tijuana in the Northern Division.

In the finals it went seven games. The two teams traded victories until they were tied at 3-3. Yucatan jumped out to early 2-0 and 5-2 leads fueled by a two run homer from Alex Liddi in the first inning and a three run homer from Sebastion Vallle in the fourth. Monclova’s first two runs were scored on a two run homer by Noah Perio in the third.

Erick Aybar tied the game in the fifth with a three run homer. He also came up in the sixth and his RBI double gave the Acereros a 6-5 lead. In the eighth Alex Mejia added two insurance runs with a double. A last run in the ninth on a squeeze bunt by Eric Young Jr. put Monclava ahead 9-5.

Four different relievers shutout the Yucatan Leones for the final 2.2 innings. Carlos Bustamante worked the last 1.2 innings to pick up the save. Al Alburquerque retired two hitters, one in the seventh and one in the eighth.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.