Lindblom KBO MVP

Josh Lindblom was voted the KBO MVP. He finished 20-5 with a 2.50 ERA and 189 whiffs. He finished second in ERA otherwise he would have won the pitching triple crown. Last year Lindblom finished second in the MVP voting to his teammate Kim Jae-hwan.

He is the fifth foreign player to win the MVP award. The other foreign players to win the award are Tyrone Woods (1998), Daniel Ross (2007), Eric Thames (2015) and Dustin Nippert (2016). Interesting that like Lindblom all the players except Thames won the MVP as Doosan Bears. Thames won the award playing for the NC Dinos.

Lindblom also won the Choi Dong-won award, similar to the Cy Young, for being the top pitcher in the KBO. It is the second straight year Lindblom has won the Choi Dong-won award. The award has only been issued since 2014 and two other pitchers have won the MVP and Choi Dong-won award during the same season, Dustin Nippert (Bears/2016) and Yang Hyeon-jong (Tigers/2017)

The rookie of the year award went out to reliever Jung Woo-young (Twins), who finished 4-6 with a 3.72 ERA and one save, 16 holds. It was not a strong rookie crop in the KBO.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.